Board and Committees

ECF is seeking a senior lawyer (15+ years experience recommended) in active practice with broad legal background to become ECF’s Board Secretary when the term of the current Board Secretary comes to an end in June 2024. To facilitate a smooth transition, ECF seeks to identify the successful candidate in the fall of 2023 while the current Secretary is available to help transition the role.

This volunteer position is one of three ECF officers (the others being Chair and Vice-Chair) but is not an ECF Director.  The maximum term of service is six years comprised of two 3-year terms. The Board Secretary attends and is a voting member of the ECF Governance Committee and has a voice, but not a vote at Board meetings.  The Governance Committee and Board each meet four times annually. The Board also has an annual strategic day in the fall and there are numerous other community events the Secretary could participate in.

A key and unique element of this role at ECF is as a signing officer for the many fund agreements negotiated with donors each year.  As a result, broad legal knowledge is ideal including elements of trust, contract, tax, and charity law as well as estate and litigation.  ECF is committed to providing excellent donor experiences. This role requires availability and commitment to timely review, comment, and sign.

ECFconnects donors to the causes they care about and is committed to creating sustainable sources of funding for the charitable sector. We are uniquely positioned to contribute to solving complex, ongoing issues and creating communities where everyone can thrive. If you or someone you recommend wishes to put their considerable legal and governance skills to work for our community, consider ECF.

Expressions of interest including a cover letter and resume can be sent to Diane Christie at no later than September 15, 2023.

Edmonton Community Foundation (ECF) relies on the expertise and leadership of a dedicated team of volunteers.

Our volunteer board members have a wide range of experience that helps them set direction and standards for ECF. They oversee our operations with the Edmonton community’s interests in mind. Community volunteers with expertise in specific sectors also serve on several committees that provide support to ECF staff and the board on key areas of operation.


Our board members are appointed by the Committee of Nominators, a group selected by the following organizations:

  • Mayor of the City of Edmonton,
  • Chair of the Board of the Edmonton Chamber of Commerce,
  • President of the Edmonton & District Labour Council,
  • Senior Justice resident in Edmonton of the Court of King’s Bench of Alberta,
  • United Way of the Alberta Capital Region,
  • University of Alberta, and
  • Edmonton Bar Association.

Directors of the Board are appointed for a three-year term and are eligible to serve a maximum of two terms. Terms commence and terminate on the date of ECF’s annual meeting, which is typically held in June of each year.

The Board as a whole elects a chair and deputy chair and appoints a secretary. Each Board member serves as chair or a member of one or more of ECF’s committees.

The Board has approved a Privacy Policy that ensures compliance with federal and provincial legislation.

Board Officers

  • Monelle Sturko, Chair
  • Elisa Hung, Vice Chair
  • Marshall Shoctor, Secretary

Board Directors

  • Kwaku Adu
  • Linda Banister
  • Jonathan Chia
  • Cynthia Dunnigan
  • Mark Korthuis
  • Leanne Krawchuk
  • Filip Ksiazkiewicz
  • Sam Narayan
  • Jai Parihar
  • Gail Stepanik-Keber
  • Drew Thomson
  • Sherilyn Trompetter
  • Leon Zupan

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee helps maintain the quality and integrity of ECF’s financial reporting. They are appointed by ECF’s Board of Directors. The Committee monitors, evaluates, advises, and makes recommendations on ECF’s financial activity. This includes external audits, financial reporting, accounting policies and practices, operating budget, and any related internal control systems.


  • Elisa Hung, Chair
  • Drew Thomson
  • Phoebe Elliot
  • Megan Koper
  • Michael Perry
  • Gastone Monai

Endowment Development Committee

The Endowment Development Committee encourages the building of endowment funds to support and enrich the Edmonton community. It helps ECF connect donors to the resources they need to make the best decisions.


  • Leon Zupan, Chair
  • Michelle Coleman
  • Daryn Kemp
  • Tim Kirby
  • Bruce Kirkland
  • Ted Kouri
  • Sam Narayan
  • Donna Lemieux
  • Cory Wosnack

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee assesses the overall performance of ECF’s Board and its committees. They are in place to help manage the Board’s activity and to ensure it’s in line with stakeholders’ expectations. The Governance Committee also recommends nominees to the Board and other committees.


  • Monelle Sturko, Chair
  • Mark Korthuis
  • Leanne Krawchuk
  • Marshall Shoctor
  • Linda Banister

Granting Programs Committee

The Granting Programs Committee is appointed by the Board of Directors to support ECF’s grants and awards programs. Under this committee, several sub-committees review all grants and awards applications and make recommendations to the Granting Programs Committee.


  • Cynthia Dunnigan, Chair
  • Monelle Sturko
  • Kwaku Adu
  • Linda Banister
  • Mark Korthuis
  • Alex Abboud
  • Heather Braid
  • Karen Harrison
  • Barb Pearce
  • Amber Rooke
  • Sherilyn Trompetter

Investment Committee

The Investment Committee supports the Board in key decision making. Its members are appointed based on a recommendation from the Board’s Governance Committee. The Investment Committee reviews investment policies and recommends changes based on their expertise. They also monitor the policies and review the performance of the fund custodians and investment managers


  • Filip Ksiazkiewicz, Chair
  • Jai Parihar
  • Riad Assaf
  • Evan Baptie
  • Thea Jackson
  • Rakesh Saraf
  • Trevor Vegh