Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medal Ceremony

Celebrating 12 outstanding Albertans

On February 22, Edmonton Community Foundation CEO Tina Thomas awarded Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medals to 12 distinguished recipients in a special ceremony.

The Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medal, created to honour Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s service to Canada, awards 7,000 Albertans in recognition of significant contributions to the province.

It is a privilege to acknowledge and celebrate the work and commitment of people who are giving so much of themselves in service to our community. Our distinguished honorees include ECF Fund Holders, community partners and advocates, people working in the charitable sector and ECF staff who have helped shape ECF’s work in our city.

Congratulations to each of the recipients:

Larry Anderson — Larry is a true community builder, and his dedication to helping & commemorating others has touched countless lives in Edmonton.

Jane Bisbee — Jane has led ECF’s Social Enterprise Fund – one of the largest in Canada – for 10 years. She has helped ECF invest in many emerging Alberta Businesses and mentored them throughout their journey.

Laurie Fagan — For 25 years, Laurie has been helping families access resources and services that support optimal child development with a focus on early intervention to support healthy communities.

Scott Graham — Former director of granting at ECF, Scott continues to enhance the lives of Edmontonians as a private citizen. Scott provides his time and relationships to numerous Edmonton charities as he inspires others around him to support important community needs.

Kathy Hawkesworth — For over 20 years, Kathy has been working with Edmontonians to help ensure the causes they care about are supported. ECF’s largest gifts were nurtured and grown under Kathy’s leadership.

Carman McNary — Carman has been one of Canada’s top tax lawyers for more than 35 years. He has been committed to community service throughout; chairing ECF, United Way Capital Campaign, Edmonton Screen Industries Office and Edmonton Chamber of Commerce boards while also serving on many others.

Catrin Owen — Catrin is a communications expert with lead positions including CEO of Calder Bateman and Deputy City Manager at the City of Edmonton. During her career Catrin has helped many organizations tackle complex issues and make a positive difference in our city.

Jai Parihar — Jai has had a long and distinguished career in Alberta, including pioneering and leading AIMCO and an enduring commitment to philanthropic pursuits.

Sir Francis Price — Sir Francis’ advocacy for Edmonton’s arts organizations like the Edmonton Opera has created opportunities for sustainability and stability, and his leadership has helped raise millions of dollars in donations and grants.

Marshall Shoctor — Marshall is a committed volunteer and philanthropist who supports the Jewish Federation of Edmonton, the Citadel Theatre and ECF, where he serves as Board Secretary. His philanthropic efforts have resulted in endowments supporting a variety of arts and cultural organizations.

Judy Smith — As Director of Community Resources at the City of Edmonton, Judy Smith’s dedication to supporting the social services sector and making a difference for the citizens of Edmonton is truly inspiring.

Allan Undheim — Allan has served Edmonton for over 25 years. First, with Big Brothers Big Sisters and more recently with United Way. He has dedicated his career to improving the lives of people and their families, community organizations and the community overall.