Belcourt Brosseau Métis Award

The Belcourt Brosseau Métis Awards (BBMA) Fund was established to help Métis Albertans realize self-sufficiency through post-secondary education and skills development.

The BBMA were established in 2001 by the directors of the Canative Housing Corporation, Orval Belcourt, Dr. Herb Belcourt, and Georges Brosseau.

Since 2002, the BBMA have provided more than $6.7 million in over 1,500 awards to more than 1,100 Métis Albertans studying at institutions across Alberta. These awards are the largest non-governmental source of student funding for Métis students in Canada. Learn more about the awards here.

Awards Criteria & How to Apply

Applicants must:

  • be Métis,
  • demonstrate financial need, and
  • intend to pursue a qualified program.

Students applying for these awards must show financial need and have a connection to the Métis community. The awards panel also assesses the applicants’ likelihood of improved opportunities, personal circumstances, and references. Awards generally range between $2,000 and $10,000. They cover a portion of education-related costs such as tuition and fees. Priority will be given to students entering their first year of post-secondary education.

You can find more information about award criteria and priorities in the Online Application.

We encourage applicants to also seek other sources of funding. Some students may be eligible for other scholarships, bursaries, and awards. You can also find further resource information by clicking here.


The awards panel and Edmonton Community Foundation (ECF) gratefully acknowledge those donors who have contributed to endowed funds that support the awards.

  • A.T. Brosseau Family
  • Alberta Advanced Education
  • Alberta Health Services
  • Alberta Ministry of Health
  • Alma McConnell
  • Canative Housing Corp.
  • Chris and Pat Cowden
  • City of Edmonton
  • Edmonton Shriners
  • Elder Marge Friedel
  • Enbridge Pipelines Inc.
  • Kiwanis Club of Sherwood Park
  • J. V. Robinson Family
  • Métis Child & Family Services
  • Naomi Rau Family
  • Pembina Pipeline
  • Rozen Steel
  • Shell Canada Limited
  • Suncor
  • Syncrude Canada Limited
  • Tervita Corporation
  • Telus
  • Tuccaro Trust

We also receive an annual contribution to the BBMA from Alberta Scholarship Programs.

Click here to learn more about becoming a BBMA Donor today.

Awards Panel & Volunteers

The awards panel is a volunteer committee of Métis Albertans who work with us to guide the development of the BBMA program and make award recommendations. We appreciate their long collaboration with us to ensure that the awards and program reflect Métis culture and community.


  • Orval Belcourt
  • Dr. Herb Belcourt
  • Georges Brosseau

Awards Panel:

  • Kathryn Brosseau (Chair)
  • Dr. John Brosseau
  • Harold Robinson
  • Barry Belcourt
  • Brenda Bourque-Stratichuk
  • Lisa Higgerty

Many other volunteers, including award recipients, help raise awareness of the BBMA, evaluate award applications, and organize an annual celebration. The awards panel and ECF greatly appreciate their contributions of time and expertise.

Awards Celebration

Each year, past and present recipients, their families, the Métis community, and corporate sponsors are invited to a cultural celebration of student success.

The 2017 awards celebration will be held:

September 23, 2017 at 3pm
Ramada Edmonton Hotel & Conference Centre
(11834 Kingsway NW, Edmonton, AB)

For sponsorship opportunities, please click here. Click here to see pictures of the event and here to see a list of sponsors.

Contact BBMA

Theresa Majeran is the Communications Coordinator for the awards. If you would like Theresa to visit your community organization or school to talk about the awards, or if you want more information about the celebration or corporate donations, contact Theresa at: 780-977-5515 or by email at